Search CNS

www cns.cornell.eduGoogle

bottom slice
top sliver

Carbon-based nanoelectronics

AFM image of a carbon nanotube device made using
lithography to contact individual nanotubes


The objective of the CNS Nanoelectronics Thrust is the development and advancement of the performance, capability and functionality of nanoelectronic semiconductor devices, circuits and architectures well beyond what can be achieved with conventional electronics. This thrust includes efforts that are concerned with revolutionary advances in silicon electronics and efforts that focus on the effective utilization of the novel capabilities of carbon-based electronic materials.

In Carbon Nanoelectronics the objective is to create integrated electronic systems using molecules such as pentacene and carbon nanotubes as the active electronic elements to obtain new functionality, and to address particular information technology needs for which Si is not a solution. A central goal is to integrate these new electronic materials into a standard Si environment to create hybrid Si/C systems.


Thrust Group Leader:

Prof. Paul McEuen
Cornell University
510 Clark Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-5193

Faculty contributors:

Jiwoong Park
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Cornell University
B50-A Baker Laboratory
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 254-3339

Eun-Ah Kim
Cornell University
507 Clark Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 254-5340

Prof. Robert Davis
Physics and Astronomy
Brigham Young University
N215 ESC
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3238

Prof. Robert Dunlap ('02 - '07)
Physics and Astronomy
University of New Mexico
P&A 14
Albuquerque, NM 87131
(505) 277-2120

Prof. Beth Parks
Physics and Astronomy
Colgate University
13 Oak Dr.
Hamilton , NY   13346
(315) 228-7187

Prof. David Tannenbaum
Physics and Astronomy
Pomona College
610 N. College Ave
Claremont , CA   91711
(909) 621-8722

Post Doctoral Fellows:

Graduate Students:

Marcus Brink (PhD 2006)
Scott Bunch (PhD 2008)
Alex Champagne (PhD 2005)
John Defranco
Nathan Gabor
Jacob Grose (PhD 2003)
Ferdinand Kuemmeth (PhD 2007)
Darryl Ngai
Joshua Parks (PhD 2009)
Yuanjia Zhang (PhD 2005)

REU Students:

Scott Berkley, Pomona College (summer 2008)
Jared Delcamp, University of Kentucky (summer 2004)
Ian Frank, Pomona College (summer 2006)
Jason He, University of Rochester (summer 2009)
Caleb Hustedt, Brigham Young University (summer 2010)
Michael Lear, University of Michigan (summer 2003)
Kristy Murray, Jackson State University (summer 2004)
Paul O'Brien, University of Pennsylvania (summer 2008)
Gabriel Ortiz, Florida International University (summer 2006)
Phi Pham, University of Colorado (summer 2009)
David Gardner, University of Scranton (summer 2010)
Xerxes Steirer, California Polytechnic State University (summer 2005)
Xingxia Zhang, University of Pennsylvania (summer 2003)

Research Highlights

Back to the Top
content bottom