Research Thrust GroupsSilicon Nanoelectronics
Carbon Nanoelectronics
Nanocharacterization and Nanoprocessing
 :: Focus
 :: Team
 :: Research Highlights

bottom slice
Search CNS

www cns.cornell.eduGoogle

bottom slice
top sliver

Nanocharacterization and Nanoprocessing


The objective of the CNS Nanocharacterization and Nanoprocessing Thrust is to carry out extensive activities to develop and advance nanofabrication and nanocharacterization technology as underlying needs become apparent within the Center. Project choices within this Thrust are made depending upon the evolving needs of the Center’s technology thrusts and upon the strength and broad potential impact of particular nanocharacterization or nanoprocessing research opportunities. The scope of the thrust encompasses the development and effective application of innovative scanned probe instrumentation, the advancement of analytical scanning transmission electron microscopy techniques to enable new and powerful means of characterizing nanoscale devices, structures and materials with atomic scale resolution, and the development of new materials synthesis, fabrication, and processing techniques to provide the nanoscale materials and control required for various nanotechnology applications.


Thrust Group Leader:

Prof. John Marohn
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Cornell University
150 Baker Laboratory
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-2004


Faculty contributors:

Prof. Melissa Hines
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
B-50 Baker Lab
(607) 255-3040

Prof. David Muller
Applied and Engineering Physics
Cornell University
274 Clark Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-4065

Prof. John Silcox
Applied and Engineering Physics
Cornell University
235 Clark Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-3332

Prof. Michael Spencer
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Cornell University
418 Phillips Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-6271

Post Doctoral Fellows:

Andre Mkoyhan (1/2004 - 1/2007)
Yu Zihang (9/2004 - 8/2005)

Graduate Students:

Hailing Bao (PhD 2005)
Ho-Young Cha
Ian Clark
Sean Garner (PhD 2005)
Jie Lu
Sara Maccagnano
Tse Nga Ng (PhD 2006)
Junxia Shi
Huaqiang Wu
Zhitao Yang
Showkat Yazdanian
Zhiheng Yu (PhD 2005)
Aycan Yurtsever

REU Students:

Thomas Babinec, University of Michigan (summer 2005)
Katie Barnett, Brigham Young University (summer 2003)
Randi Cabezas, Florida International University (summer 2009)
Michael Clemens, Brigham Young University (summer 2004)
James Durgin, Penn State (summer 2006)
Sarah Garcia-Gordon, Hollins University (summer 2005)
Phillip Laker-Ojok, M.I.T. (summer 2006)
Rebecca Lee, California State University, Los Angeles (summer 2008)
Anastasia Midkiff, George Washington Univ (summer 2004)
Robert Natividad, California State Polytechnic University (summer 2006)
Solomon Otim, University of Rochester (summer 2005)
Jeisa Pelet, UPR-Mayaguez Campus (summer 2004)
Paden Roder, Grinnell College (summer 2008)
Kiera Vizza, Benedictine University (summer 2006)
Michael Willemann, Virginia Tech (summer 2003)


Back to the Top
content bottom