Search CNS

www cns.cornell.eduGoogle

bottom slice
top sliver



The objective of the CNS Nanomagnetics Thrust is to understand, optimize, and develop applications of the spin-transfer effect, whereby a spin-polarized current, which is generated by passing a current through a fixed ferromagnetic layer, can apply a strong magnetic torques to a nanoscale magnetic element in a magnetic multilayer device. The consequences of this torque can be to either reverse the magnetic orientation of the nanomagnet element, or depending on the effective magnetic field applied, put the magnetic moment into steady-state precession at microwave frequencies. This phenomenon offers a much more efficient means of manipulating magnets in nanoscale magnetic memory devices than using the traditional techniques involving magnetic fields, and it can also be employed to excite different types of magnetic dynamics than through the use of magnetic fields. CNS is working to develop two types of nanomagnetic applications that exploit this new effect: (1) spin-transfer-driven magnetic memory in which a spin-polarized current is used to write magnetic information, and (2) signal processing at microwave frequencies with precessing nanomagnets.


Thrust Group Leader:

Prof. Daniel Ralph
Cornell University
536 Clark Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-9644

Faculty contributors:

Prof. Robert Buhrman
Applied & Engineering Physics
Cornell University
211 Clark Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-3732

Prof. Sunil Bhave
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Cornell University
405 Phillips Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 254-8520

Prof. Farhan Rana
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Cornell University
316 Phillips Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 255-6317

Previous Faculty contributors:

Prof. Tomas Arias
Cornell University
522 Clark Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-0450

Prof. Piet Brouwer
Cornell University
538 Clark Hall
Ithaca, NY  14853
(607) 255-8963


Post Doctoral Fellows:

Saikat Ghosh 9/2008 - 5/2010
Sergey Kiselev (9/2002 - 10/2004)
Ilya Krivorotov (8/2002 - 8/2005)
Zhipan Li

Graduate Students:

Shaffique Adam (PhD 2006)
Patrick Braganca
Ivan Daykov
Nathan Emley (PhD 2005)
Greg Fuchs (PhD 2007)
Andrei Garcia (MS 2005)
Praveen Gowtham
David Hutchison
Oukjae Lee
Luqiao Liu
Phillip Mather (PhD 2006)
Alex Mellnik
Joshua Parks
Andrew Perrella (PhD 2004)
Mikhail Polyanskiy (PhD 2004)
Vlad Stefan Pribiag
Eric Ryan
Jack Sankey
Kiran Thadani
Juting Zhai (MS 2005)

REU Students:

Daniel Estrada, Cornell University (summer 2005)
James Hitchcock, University of Tennesee, Knoxville (summer 2010)
My Pham Linh, Virginia Tech (summer 2006)
W. Tyler McCleery, University of Southern Mississippi (summer 2009)
Lisa Qian, Rice University (summer 2006)
Stephen Quinn, University of Notre Dame (summer 2008)
Christine Simmons, Oberlin College (summer 2004)
Adam Straub, Brown University (summer 2004)
Jane Wang, University of Oklahoma (summer 2003)
Benjamin Williams, University of Texas at Dallas (summer 2008)
Mark Wilson, Michigan State University (summer 2005)
Katherine Wooley, Purdue University (summer 2005)


Back to the Top
content bottom